My Worst Fear About Dating After Divorce Came True, and I’m Glad

Being rejected because I was a mom helped me realize what I was actually looking for.

Brianna Conrey
5 min readOct 28, 2021
Photo by Pratik Gupta on Unsplash

“That looked like goodbye,” the old man said.

He was right. It had started as our fourth date, and ended with a long hug on the sidewalk before we parted ways.

The old man had watched from his table at the sidewalk café. “What happened?” he asked now.

What had happened? I thought things had been going well, and then suddenly on this date, I had been confronted with the very type of rejection I feared most, as a divorced woman with two kids: He didn’t want to date a mom.

This especially stung because I was just starting to date again, six months after my divorce and a year and a half after we had agreed it was over between us. More to the point, I was just starting to date again after nearly 15 years as part of a couple.

I hadn’t felt in a hurry to start dating after my divorce, but within a few months, I had been asked out by friends of friends. To my surprise, I found I enjoyed these dates. I wanted to keep meeting people, and I was starting to feel like it would be nice to find someone I liked spending time with, maybe even to find a real partner again someday. I…

--

--

Brianna Conrey

Family, relationships, and life after divorce with a twist of humor. Exploring happiness, creativity, and how to be a good person in a complicated world.